Monthly Archives: October 2014

Email to Euro Commissioners about Hinkley C Subsidy.

Great letter to the European Commission from Theo Simon. What a shame that the commission approved it anyway & they also claim that the UK have modified their proposals so as tor educe the exposure of the taxpayer but I haven’t seen the specific details so how can we possibly tell?

Theo's Blog

The following is text of an email I sent to EU commissioners who will decide tomorrow Wednesday 8th of October whether to support the uk governments subsidy of EDF’s Hinkley C nuclear power project.  Please feel free to cut and paste the text below and send it as an email (separately) to each of the following commissioners before 8 am tomorrow morning.  They can still be influenced we think!

commissioners email addresses: 

Andris.Piebalgs@ec.europa.eu

Cecilia.Malmstrom@ec.europa.eu

Kristalina.Georgieva@ec.europa.eu

Tonio.Borg@ec.europa.eu

Maire.GEOGHEGAN-QUINN@ec.europa.eu

Maria.Damanaki@ec.europa.eu

Androulla.Vassiliou@ec.europa.eu

Email Text: 

Dear Commissioner,

I read with dismay that the European Commission is on the verge of approving the deal between the UK Government and EDF Energy to subsidise the proposed nuclear power station at Hinkley Point C in Somerset. This could mean that UK electricity consumers are saddled with paying out up to £17.6 billion to EDF Energy and its Chinese partners over the 35 years from 2023, for a…

View original post 373 more words